Life

A New Year, A New Direction

img_8206It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Almost 2 years to be exact. My last post was in MARCH of 2015. To be honest, there have been countless times that I’ve wanted to get back to this blog. It lost direction after my dietetic internship and there was no way for me to keep it going. I’m a different person now than I was back then. Looking back at some of my posts, which date back to 2012, makes me cringe. I was in a really bad place for a large portion of time that I wrote this blog. To me it shines through in a lot of the posts. Before I publish this post, I’m going to go back and block a lot of those old posts. They say things that I don’t stand by anymore as a dietitian.

So where am I now? Well, I’m almost done with grad school. I decided to go back to school and started my masters in public health in the fall of 2015. It’s been rewarding so far, but I’m ready to be done. I’ve continued to work at the hospital on a per diem basis. I’m working more this year than I did last year. I’ve got grad school more under control now so I have the ability to do that I guess. I’m also working on campus at the health center as a graduate assistant. I do get to see clients once a week, but I don’t do as much as a dietitian as I do at the hospital. I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do after I graduate.  I’m just going with the flow until graduation and then I’ll start to panic if I need to!

So, what was the motivation to restart this blog? Well, I’ve become very inspired by some fellow RD bloggers in the last few years. Inspired by women who challenge me to look at nutrition from a different lens. Who fearlessly share their lives for the sake of inspiring others. Even though I know I’ll never have a blog of their caliber, I really just want to have an outlet. I want to able to write down the things that inspire me and if I help one person in the process, that’s awesome. If not, I know that I’ve helped myself.

Here’s to the new adventures of 2017!

img_8169

Leave a Reply

