Clinical Nutrition · Life

6 Month Job Update + Life Lately

15ddb97722812003985c308b15bac6d7

Wednesday was officially 6 months at my clinical dietitian job at the hospital and 10 months ago today I had my first day at the hospital as an intern.

Time. Flies.

I just read back through my 3 month job update and it’s absolutely insane how much I’ve grown since then! I still learn something new every day and know that the learning never stops, or at least it shouldn’t!  I’ve also become much more detail oriented and haven’t had any more incidences of accidentally missing someone or something important. I truly think sometimes it just takes making mistakes to learn.

In November I had the opportunity to apply for a full time position that would include my own area in the hospital. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the position. I feel really fortunate because as much as I really wanted the position and my own area, I’ve been able to see the positives of continuing to float and spend time building skills in different units with different types of patients. Plus the girl who got the position was more than deserving of it. She was a classmate of mine in undergrad and a fellow intern last year, so I’m excited to see her succeed as a young RD and be rewarded for all her hard work.

3 months ago I had just started working in ICU and since then it’s become more of a regular unit for me to work on. We have 7 full time RD positions that split the ~15 units of the hospital, but 2 of those RD positions cover ICU.  The ICU is a 30 bed unit and one RD covers 19 of the ICU beds and the other covers the remaining 11 beds plus the 18 ICU level bed on the cardiovascular care unit (CVCU). Those ICU patients on CVCU are mostly open heart surgery patients or those with serious cardiac arrest that has required CPR and left them with potential brain damage due to lack of oxygen for a period of time. For the most part, the ICU level patients on CVCU don’t require nutrition intervention but there are always a few that are having a difficult recovery and are requiring tube feeding.

In the last few months I’ve covered the ICU + CVCU position a lot. The position may have a lot of beds, but the RD rarely has more than 10-12 patients on their list, which is manageable. I’ve really grown to love the critical care setting which is funny because as an intern I was totally and completely terrified by ICU. It amazes me how much knowledge I have now compared to then and how comfortable I am with more complex situations. I still find myself asking for help pretty frequently but I’m more confident making simpler decisions on my own now. I cover ICU for ~2 weeks in February and I’m really excited! But also a little nervous!

Anyways, I still completely love my RD job. I love the hospital and I love my coworkers and I love helping my patients. Yesterday I had 6 educations, which is a lot, and every single one of those patients was super excited about nutrition. Yesterday was definitely the exception since nutrition is often not the favorite topic, but it was so nice to spend time helping my patients set goals about their health and see them so genuinely motivated. I was so busy yesterday and stayed almost 2 hours late, but those educations made every single second worth it!

As for my January so far:

013

I successfully donated blood for the 8th time last week and I’m now officially a gallon donor. If you can give blood, please do! It’s so important and only takes an hour of your time. Go to the Red Cross website to read about the eligibility criteria and find a blood drive near you!

014

I bought these beautiful Alex and Ani bracelets for myself as a late Christmas present and I am obsessed. Don’t mind my dingy looking lab coat sleeve…

022

I got to spend time with some church friends on Wednesday and play Clue and drink tea. It was a rager! Haha. But seriously, there is nothing more fun that bundling up on a cold winter night and playing a classic board game!

028

My BirchBox (<–referral link) subscription continues to be one of the best decisions I have made in the last 6 months. I love opening these every month! Plus I’m obsessed with the “Let’s Do This” slogan for 2015.

029

This Buzzfeed quiz had me laughing so hard. I literally just told someone the other day that I could never be vegan because I love cheese too much. 035

This is how my day started yesterday, with my coffee leaking everywhere. I got to work to find a puddle of coffee in my cupholder. Only on a Friday…

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

One thought on “6 Month Job Update + Life Lately

Leave a Reply

