Life

Hello 2015!

How did this happen? How is it already a new year?

I apparently decided to take a hiatus from blogging for a little over a month. I think I needed it, honestly. Somehow this site still managed to get a fair amount of traffic during that time period which surprised me, but I’ll try to start posting more often now. This blog turned 2 years old on Thanksgiving but if feels like I’ve been blogging for so much longer than that!

The last 5 weeks haven’t been too incredibly exciting, just working a lot (what’s new), cooking when I can, and trying not to go crazy in this tiny town. There has been no one here since the university is on winter break and a lot of my friends are from out of state and have traveled home for the holidays. People will be returning this weekend and I’m super excited to be surrounded by humans again! My family came up to Oregon for Christmas which actually ended up being a lot of fun! I was worried since my apartment is so small and they stayed with me on Christmas Eve and then all of Christmas Day, but it ended up working out. They ended up staying a few days longer but my parents stayed in a hotel so my apartment wasn’t so cramped!

I had to work on Christmas Eve and December 26th and they were some ridiculously crazy work days! I’m pretty sure I consumed way too much caffeine both days but it helped me stay productive! Red cups for the win!

034

I bought an artificial tree this year and after my parents arrived and we put out all the presents it looked so small!

043

And of course Miss Ruby tagged along and was up to her usual antics.

046 071 097 099 125 130

I just love her so much!

I’m pleased to report that I actually stuck with my New Years Resolution in 2014. My faith has always been an extremely important part of my life but during college I found a way to make excuses and let it slip to the side. I still was active in bible studies and church but I wasn’t living like a Christian. In the fall of 2013 I started making some good changes in my life and by the new year I wanted to make 2014 a year of spiritual growth. I bought the devotional Jesus Calling and challenged myself to read all the way through it in 2014. And I did it! Intentionally reading through the Word on a daily basis was life changing for me this year and I would highly recommend this devotional to anyone whose looking for an easy way to ease back into reading scripture!

I didn’t really do much for New Years this year. In fact, I was in bed at 11:00 PM and fell asleep before midnight. I won’t get into specifics as to why that happened, but I think it was a good thing for me. I definitely did not intend to spend my New Years Eve the way I did, but that’s okay 🙂

This year I’m making 2 resolutions. The first is to read the She Reads Truth #365DaysOfTruth. Unfortunately they are having some technical difficulties with their WordPress site today so I can’t actually begin it fully right now, but once I’m able to access it I will. They have an app too, which is great! Check it out, both the site and the app are fantastic!

Yesterday when I was listening to the radio on my way to work they were talking about choosing one word and focusing on it all year long. I decided that would be an awesome resolution as well, so I’ve chosen my word for 2015: LOVE.

002

I think this verse, 1 John 3:18, really shows what I mean when I say I want to focus on “love” this year. Not the romantic love, although I wouldn’t be opposed to that (haha), but truly loving people and living out my life in a way that shows I care deeply about those around me. I would also like to work more on accepting love and allowing others to love me. I truly think that what this world needs is more love and people living like they love each other. Isn’t that what God put us here to do, anyways?

Besides contemplating how I can better myself in 2015, I also got to do some cooking today! I got a new food processor for Christmas and I got to use it for the first time today. I’ll post the recipe later this week, it was a super simple vegetarian soup. I’ve been eating a lot of meat lately so it feels good to get back to a meatless diet!

I hope you all had a wonderful New Years Eve and have had a great first day of 2015! I’m so excited to see what this year has in store!

Leave a Reply

