Life

3 Month Job Update

cc45c2298b4f606c68d12b4d56893b6b

On Tuesday I hit the 3 month point at my new job and next week I’ll have been an RD for 2 months! Where the heck is the time going?

I started working on my own doing at the beginning of the September. I started off working as the float dietitian, covering for dietitians that work med surg floors, and covering for the dietetic technicians. At the end of September I started training in ICU and now I’ve also worked ICU a few times on my own. I keep thinking this job will get easier but it is still such a challenge for me almost every day!

I’ve learned so much in the last 3 months it’s incredible. Obviously, most of what I’ve learned is about dietetics itself but I’ve also learned quite a bit about myself too.

One of the most difficult things for me has been being confident in what I know. I have learned a lot but I’m not yet confident making recommendations unless I check them with a reference of some kind first. Luckily, I have access to a lot of fantastic resources but I think I’ve been wasting a lot of time double checking what I already know. It is beneficial though because if I have to talk to a doctor at least I can reference to resource during the conversation.

Another thing I’ve learned is to be very thorough ALL. THE. TIME. This is usually something I excel at in my everyday life because I tend to be an extremely detail oriented person. There have been two instances now where I was too rushed at the end of the day and ended up looking over something extremely important. The first time, someone else had to deal with it after I overlooked it. The second time, which was yesterday, I ended up having to stay an hour late and deal with my mistake. Let’s just say I will always be double and triple checking that everything is done before I leave from now on!

I’ve also learned a lot about myself too. I am actually a really shy person when I’m in an environment where I don’t know a lot of people. It’s taken me a long time to get comfortable calling doctors, talking to nurses, and feeling comfortable sitting at the nurses stations and charting. I’ve really been trying to interact with more people and I’m slowly building a group of acquaintances in different disciplines.

Overall, the first 3 months have been great. The team of dietitians is amazing and so supportive. I know I always have people to turn to if I need help and I love that. I also had my first intern last week and it was such a surreal experience to be precepting when I just finished the internship myself a few months ago! I’m going to find out if I can take the preceptor class that the hospital offers next month so that I’ll be better prepared to be a preceptor. I’m only precepting a few times a month, but I want to make sure I’m having a positive impact on the interns.

I’m excited to see how much I’m going to grow in the next 3 months!

2 thoughts on “3 Month Job Update

Leave a Reply

