Uncategorized

WIAW: A Different Kind of Day

Hello all! I had a very different day of meals today. Usually I eat the same thing most days, but today I felt like breaking out of that mold, apparently!

019

Breakfast: Accidental baked raspberry chia oatmeal and unsweetened vanilla almond milk. 

Today got a slower start than normal. I had yesterday off since I worked the weekend and today I was the float dietitian, so I didn’t have to be at work until around 8 AM. I just couldn’t get myself out of bed and ended up not showering until around 6:25 this morning. The slow pace continued when I sat down to enjoy this delicious breakfast! I attempted to make these granola bars yesterday, but they were doomed from the start and I knew it. Luckily, they cooked into a delicious baked oatmeal that was super filling thanks to all the chia seeds! 

When I finally arrived at work at 8:30 I already had a list of patients to see. It was a busy day for the dietitian team at the hospital! Normally, my tummy starts rumbling around 10 AM telling me it’s time for my yogurt. That was not the case today…my breakfast held me over until lunch time! 

016

Lunch: Today I packed leftover veggie curry that I made a few nights ago and had a nectarine on the side. I swear, the curry tastes better than it looks! Usually, I eat an egg salad sandwich, a small salad, and a piece of fruit. Honestly, I’ve gotten really tired of the same old routine and now that I have more time to cook dinner after work I’m trying to take more leftovers when I can. I will say, everyone was pretty envious of my lunch today. It just smelt so good! 

017

Snack: Yogurt and granola. Not having my morning snack meant yogurt in the afternoon today. I got this yogurt for free at Safeway with my club card and since I can never pass up free I had to try it. I will say, it was not my favorite. I didn’t realize there was coconut goo at the bottom that was meant to be stirred in so when I got there it was way too sweet and I just had to toss the rest. The non coconut part was sweet enough that I thought it was coconut! 

025

On the drive home I munched on a small baggie of carrots that I packed for myself. Yes, I ate carrots. I will say, I don’t really like them that much. I have gotten over the fact that they have a dirt after taste and I had no idea how crunchy they are but I am slowly learning to accept them. They fill me up and I like that.

030

Dinner: Fruit salad, bread, artichoke dip, greek quinoa salad, mexican chicken salad (that I picked the chicken out of), mexican quiche with a brown rice crust, chipotle yams with bacon (I died, they were so good!) and tortilla chips, because they are a tribe staple. Tribe (small group) split up to do separate guys and girls groups tonight and I was so impressed with the potluck the ladies pulled together! I brought the fruit salad and some sugar cookies for dessert. We also passed around a bag of dove dark chocolate as we chatted about life. 

Today was a different kind of day in so many ways, but it was such a good day! Full of good food, good friends, and good thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

