Vegetarian

BBQ Chickpea Burger

065

I’m baaaaaack! 

Even during the chaos of studying for my test I had to give myself a little time to spend time in the kitchen, so I’ve got a handful of recipes that I need to publish eventually.

I’ve done the vegetarian thing before and lately I’ve been wanting to do it again. It’s so hard sometimes because I really really enjoy chicken but I hate cooking it and buying it. Honestly I probably will still be eating chicken occasionally, but I’m trying to branch out and add more vegetarian entrees to my life. 

Weight has been a little bit of a struggle for me lately, nothing major, but I can feel myself accumulating a little extra padding in various places on my body. That’s what taking a break from running at a very stressful point in life can do to you! I also haven’t been working out as regularly because of all that’s been going on (unexpected trips home, studying for my test, etc.) so I’ve essentially fallen off the wagon. 

Although I know being vegetarian does not equal weight loss, I do know that I personally tend to eat a little bit cleaner when I’m avoiding meat. I had tried a few veggie burgers in the past but stumbled upon this one on the Oh She Glows website and decided to give them a try. 

Veggie burgers are a pain in the butt to make homemade, but it’s worth it because you always end up with plenty of leftovers for meals later during the week! 

These are not my all time favorite veggie burgers, but they are definitely worth sharing. They were a little bit crumbly, which seems to be the main problem with homemade veggie burgers, but I didn’t try to put them on a bun so the crumbliness didn’t really matter. 

BBQ Chickpea Burgers

Recipe from Oh She Glows

Ingredients:

  • 2 & 1/4 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup dry brown rice 
  • 3 tbsp sunflower seeds + 1 tbsp pepita seeds, toasted
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup diced red pepper
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1 small carrot, grated
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
  • 3 tbsp BBQ sauce
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs, or more as needed
  • 2-3 tbsp ground flax
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

Directions:

  1. In a strainer, rinse the rice. Add 1/2 cup dry rice into a pot with 1 cup water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover with lid, and simmer for about 25-30 minutes, watching closely and giving it a stir after 20. Add a touch more water if necessary.
  2. Preheat oven to 300F. Toast sunflower and pepita seeds for about 12 minutes, or until lightly golden in colour. Set aside.
  3. Finely chop the garlic, peppers, onion, and parsley. Grate carrot. Stir in half the salt. Set aside.
  4. Add the chickpeas and rice into a large bowl. Make sure your rice is HOT as it helps it stick together and bind. Do not use cold rice. With a potato masher, mash very well, leaving some chunks for texture. You will need to use a lot of elbow grease to mash this up, but you want it really sticky so it’s worth it! You can also pulse in a food processor.
  5. Preheat a large skillet over medium-high heat. With a wooden spoon, stir in the chopped vegetables into the mashed chickpea/rice mixture. Now stir in the seeds, BBQ sauce, breadcrumbs, and ground flax. Add the salt and red pepper flakes to taste.
  6. Form 6-8 patties and pack dough together tightly. Spray the preheated skillet with oil. Cook the patties for about 4-5 minutes per side over medium-high heat (time will vary based on your temp). Burgers should be browned and firm when ready. You can also try grilling the patties (try pre-baking patties for 15 mins in the oven at 350F before grilling).

064

I served mine with some green beans and roasted potatoes and it was delicious! 

Leave a Reply

