Uncategorized

Why I Didn’t Run the Eugene Half Marathon Today

071

I’ve got the bib. I’ve got the T-shirt. I didn’t run the race. 

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I hurt my knee on the 4th of July on a long run and when I tried to run on it a few days after it still hurt. I haven’t run on it since, so I can’t really give a true update on how it’s feeling. All I know is that it seems to be tolerating low impact activity very well and I’m wearing a compression brace most of the time because it gets sore by the end of the day. 

After a lot of thought I decided that I needed to do what’s best for my body and not run the half marathon today. The decision was surprisingly easy to make because I totally went with my mind and didn’t let any emotion get into it. 

Unfortunately, it was easy to not let any emotion get into the decision making process…but it worked it’s way in there eventually. 

I was feeling really nervous about this race in the training leading up to it and I think my body was telling me that this wasn’t the right time for it to run a half marathon. Like any runner, I was ignoring those cues and pushing on with training anyways. Not listening to my body telling me to stop. 

I’m trying to think of the positive: as far as I can tell this isn’t a debilitating injury and I am pretty sure I will be able to run more half marathons in the future. I’m going to start fresh by doing the strength training I know my body desperately needs. I can really feel my weak spots on long runs and I’m going to take the opportunity to strengthen them. I’m also going to start running more frequently for shorter distances. I’m going to try to build myself back up to where I was last year, before the stress of an internship and a way to busy schedule. Most importantly, I’m not going to sign up for another half marathon until I know I had a strong foundation to build from, and I’m going to let myself take my time getting there.

I was lucky enough to have lunch with my amazing friend Meghan and her parents this afternoon after she finished her marathon.  She brought me my bib and shirt that she picked up at the expo yesterday. I thought about just putting my bib in a drawer or something, because I feel silly hanging it up when I didn’t run the race, but I decided to hang it up anyways to remind myself how much I love running and that I have more races in my future to look forward to.

I just need to listen to my body this time around. 

Leave a Reply

