Berry · Pancakes · Sauce

Berry Syrup

038

On Saturday morning I wanted to make pancakes and I’ve had frozen berries in the freezer for a while that I’ve really needed to use up.  My first idea was to put the berries in the pancake batter, but that just didn’t sound that great.  Growing up we used to use berry syrup on our pancakes, not maple syrup, so I got the idea to make my own with the berries.

It wasn’t very syrupy, but it was delicious! Plus it was super easy and I was able to throw it together while my pancakes were cooking on the griddle.

I used frozen berries, but I don’t know why it wouldn’t work with fresh berries. Or cherries!

Berry Syrup

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup berries
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon

Directions:

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a simmer.
  2. Crush berries to release juices.
  3. Cook for 5 minutes and serve warm over pancakes.

036

In my usual fashion, I made a huge mess while making something incredibly simple. Oh well.

035

Try this the next time you make pancakes!

Leave a Reply

