Clinical Nutrition · Dietetic Internship · Life · Weekly Recap

Week 33 Recap

002

Week 33 is done and my 10 weeks at the city hospital are over!

Let me tell you, nothing this week went as I planned it would. Nothing.

I woke up on Monday morning with a full blown cold, not just a sore throat or some other indication that I was getting sick, a full blown cold.  I absolutely freaked out on Monday morning when I realized I was sick because my case study was this week and I felt like I still had a lot left to prepare for it.

I was back in ICU this week with a different dietitian and we were also responsible for the Cardiovascular Care Unit (CVCU).  My previous experience in ICU made me think that it was going to be a busy week and since I wasn’t feeling 100% I was nervous.  Thankfully, it was the slowest week we had since I started there in March and I actually got to leave early every day.

In hindsight, I probably shouldn’t have kept up with my normal social activities this week.  I just have the hardest time saying “Sorry guys, I’m sick,” when I just have a cold.  I also know that if I’m not feeling well the best thing I can do is distract myself but often times that leads me to feel even more exhausted later.

By the time Thursday rolled around I still had a full blown cold and I had to give my case study presentation at the RD/DTR meeting after lunch.  I don’t know about anyone else, but I feel like every time I give a presentation I just totally black out and have no recollection of what actually happened during the presentation.  Almost everyone had really great reactions to the presentation so I knew I had done something right!

I literally cannot believe I pulled it off being so sick.  The group of RDs and DTRs that I had the chance to work with were all so incredibly supportive and I felt very comfortable giving my presentation to them.  One of the DTRs even told me today that I didn’t seem like an intern giving a huge presentation to them, I just seemed like another RD presenting some useful information I had found.

Best. Compliment. Ever!

I’m so excited that I will be back at the hospital for 2 weeks of staff relief!  I think it really hit me today that even though I have learned an incredible amount in the last 10 weeks I still have so much more to learn!  I have my RD exam study guide and I’m going to bust it out soon and really get serious about learning what I know I don’t know.

Since it’s a 3 day weekend I plan on relaxing and letting my body heal.  I have totally fallen off the exercise wagon, for obvious reasons, so I’m hoping to get in some kind of mild, low intensity workout tomorrow since I won’t have work.  As someone who really relies on working out 3-4 times a week both for weight maintenance and energy, this week has been really hard.  Obviously rest has been necessary this week but I’ve found myself just laying around so much doing nothing and more than once I thought “I could be at the gym right now if I felt better.”

I guess I learned this week that I really do like going to the gym and I enjoy working out a lot.  Part of that might be that it’s the only time I allow myself to read for fun on my Kindle, but I have to find motivation somehow 🙂

Anyways, I hope everyone has a wonderful 3 day weekend! I have watching Frozen on my agenda (since I still haven’t seen it!) and trying to work my way through the pile of magazines that has accumulated that I haven’t had time to read.

Fingers crossed I wake up feeling better tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

