Clinical Nutrition · Dietetic Internship · Life · Weekly Recap

Week 28 Recap

003

28 weeks down, only 10 more to go!

I can’t believe time is flying this quickly and I’m having mixed feelings about this internship ending. Part of me is so done and ready to move on but the other half of me is scared to face the reality of the real world after this.  There is so much uncertainty about what my life after this program is going to look like and sometimes it’s so hard not to sit and obsess about different scenarios that could happen.

I know everything will work out and I’ve got nothing to worry about as long as I keep working hard, but sometimes it’s just scary!

Anyways, enough of that.

I was in NICU all this week and I am really glad I got the chance to spend more time in that area.  On Monday morning the clinical nutrition supervisor sent me and email telling me I would be getting the whole week in NICU and subsequently an entire week in IMCU, NTCU, and psych as well.  I asked for more time in both those areas and I’m glad I got it!

Having more time in NICU was really beneficial because I saw some things the last few days that I was there that I would have missed out on otherwise.  Plus I got a lot of practice doing TPN calculations which is never a bad thing.

I think I’ve realized how demanding it really is to be an intern and be moved to a different preceptor in a different part of the hospital every week.  At least now I have the EMR figured out so it’s much easier to chart review and do chart notes, but everyone seems to want me to chart in a different way.  I wish there was a set protocol that had to be followed but I know it’s hard to implement something like that.

019

Today was the first day of the Corvallis farmer’s market and I finally found a little burrows tail! I’ve been wanting one for a while now and just haven’t put in the effort to go to a nursery to find one but there was a succulent vendor at the market today and she had one left, so of course I had to buy it! I hope it gets bigger fast, it’s such a tiny thing right now!

Hope everyone has a wonderful Easter Sunday tomorrow 🙂 Plus I’ve got a cookie recipe coming this week so get excited!

Leave a Reply

