Clinical Nutrition · Dietetic Internship · Life · Weekly Recap

Week 27 Recap

005

I cannot believe it’s week 27 of my internship already!!! The time has absolutely flown by and I would give anything to have it slow down right now.  I’m not liking how quickly my time at the hospital is passing by!

I’ll come back to that in a minute though…

I have made a few fantastic food discoveries this lately, one of them being this Dry Lavender Soda.  Oh my goodness, delicious! Some of my other food discoveries include Don Francisco’s Cinnamon Hazelnut coffee, Darigold French Vanilla Creamer made with real cream, Trader Joe’s Candied Ginger, Lucerne Hot Habenero jack cheese, Chobani Flip yogurts (especially the peach with pistachio and dark chocolate), and The Laughing Cow White Cheddar cheese wedges.

So many delicious things!  Food seriously makes me way too happy, probably why nutrition is such a good fit!

Anyways, back to my internship.

This has seriously been one of the best weeks that I have ever had during my internship.  I am absolutely in love with clinical dietetics and the team of dietitians that I’m working with are just so great.  I started the week with my same preceptor as last week and we had a great few days working together. She let me do a lot of patients on my own and I love getting to practice what I’ll probably be doing on my own in a short period of time.

After finishing up with her I moved over into another building to work with the dietitian that does the Mother/Baby Unit, NICU, and Pediatrics.  It is a completely different world over there but it has been super interesting so far.  It’s a lot less patient interaction because in many cases patient care isn’t possible.  So instead of working things out with the patients it’s a lot of calculations and charting progress.

I got to see some of the babies up close in NICU today and they are so incredibly tiny!  The smallest I saw was a little over 2 lbs, she was the size of a baby doll!  It is amazing that babies born that small are able to survive.  It’s got me thinking a lot about when I have my own kids, which is obviously off in the future quite a ways, but it scares me to think that you can be healthy and have everything going well in pregnancy and then all of a sudden it goes wrong and you have a premature baby! Scary stuff.

I’m back with that same preceptor next week for 2 days and then I go over to IMCU, NTCU, and psych for 2 days.  I’ve got a lot of studying to do this weekend!

Hope you’re enjoying the sunshine if you have it!

 

Leave a Reply

