Artichoke · Chicken · Pizza · Wine

Pesto Artichoke Sausage Pizza

photo (11)

On Friday afternoon I was in desperate need of wine after a fairly stressful week, so I headed to Trader Joe’s on the way home.  I love their wine selection and I was reading the Fearless Flyer online and they were featuring a wine that I wanted to try.

So I bought some.

photo (12)

While I was there I also browsed the aisles and it became very apparent very quickly that I needed to make pizza for dinner.  So along with my wine I grabbed a bag of whole wheat pizza crust, a can of artichoke hearts, and a bag of shredded mozzarella.

When I got home I added a jar of pesto and a chicken sausage to the mix and got to work!

016

To start off, I rolled out my pizza dough.  Someone needs to teach me how to do this properly because I never have success making it look nice.

017

I was just happy there were minimal holes!

Next, I added a layer of pesto.

018

Then some cheeeeeeeese.

019

Then chicken sausage! I used a spinach feta one I got from Safeway.  It’s their antibiotic, hormone free chicken sausage brand…I’m all for no antibiotics in my chicken!

020

After the chicken sausage, I added three of the canned artichoke hearts.  I love these little guys!  I’m a big artichoke fan but marinated artichoke hearts are just too much for me most of the time.  These are perfect!

021

After that I added more cheese and then apparently forgot to take pictures until I had the pizza on my plate.

Anyways, it was a great combo!

Pesto Artichoke Sausage Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 bagged whole wheat pizza crust (enough to make 1 12 inch pizza)
  • 2-3 tbsp pesto
  • 3/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, more if you would like
  • 1 chicken sausage, diced
  • 3 canned artichoke hearts, diced

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to highest setting, or whatever the package directions say.
  2. Roll out pizza dough on floured surface, move to oiled pizza pan (or baking sheet if you’re me and don’t own a pizza pan)
  3. Layer on the toppings!
  4. Bake for 10 minutes.
  5. Remove from oven, cool for at least 5 minutes, cut, and eat!

 

 

Leave a Reply

