Clinical Nutrition · Dietetic Internship · Life · Weekly Recap

Week 24 Recap

9de5e19fc437af2bcd19c2add8546299

I have been so busy this week that I don’t actually have any pictures to document any of the things that I did!  I plugged my phone into my computer and it told me there were no new pictures to upload…what? Guess I really have been as busy as I feel like I’ve been!

Monday started my time at the city hospital.  I am pleased to say I have yet to get lost, but I’m still getting a hang of the whole door situation.  Sometimes you just have to push the button, sometimes you just have to swipe your badge, sometimes you have to do both…it’s all a little confusing to me! I’ve decided as long as I have my badge on me at all times nothing bad will happen.  At least I’ll be able to get through doors!

I’m feeling more than a little overwhelmed after my first week.  My preceptor for the first two weeks have more than 20 years of experience as an RD and she is incredibly knowledgeable and intelligent.  She is challenging me and asks me approximately 1 million questions during the day about disease states, medications, treatments, and everything else under the sun.  Her main goal by doing this isn’t to make me feel like an idiot (although if that was her plan it would be working!) but to get me connecting the dots about things I already know.

The human body is incredibly complex and textbooks make everything seem so black and white.  In undergrad our case studies never got too incredibly complex so seeing a real life person in the hospital with a boatload of problems is much more complicated than anything I’ve dealt with before.

Plus on top of that you have financial and social issues that it takes the entire medical team to work out.  Sometimes you have to bend the rules of what you know to make something work financially for a family or with their knowledge level.

I’m on the advanced practice med/surg floor and also in oncology so I’m seeing some really complex stuff right off the bat.  I think the reason that they have the interns start in that area is because it’s an area that really requires you to start connecting the dots and thinking deeper about what you know.

I really love it though.  I feel overwhelmed and I need to do some serious studying, but that’s okay.  I’m not dreading the studying because I know I need to do it if I want to be successful. I feel like having a year off had made things more difficult for me at this rotation and the fact that my MNT class was not the strongest isn’t helping either, but I’m going to do what I need to do to get up to speed!

So for now I’m going to sit inside and enjoy the sun shining through my window and study some nutrition!

 

Leave a Reply

