Life

A Week Without Social Media

photo (5)

 

I know I mostly use this blog as an outlet to document recipes and talk about my experience as an intern, but it’s also about my life so I felt it would be appropriate to share a recent life experience.

I completely gave up social media for an entire 5 days.

Between March 10-March 14 anything that was under the “Social” tab in my phone was off limits.  Since Bloglovin and WordPress fall into that category (and in my mind are a form of social media), I didn’t keep up with any of my normal blogs for the entire week either, or check my own site.  (The post that showed up from me in that period of time was a scheduled post I had written a few days before.)

Soooo….why did I decide to do this?

The church I go to, Dox, was doing their Week of Prayer and Fasting so we were all called to fast in some way or another.  Since I personally wasn’t comfortable doing a food fast of any sort I chose to fast from social media.  To me, this was more important than food.  Social media is an addiction for me on so many levels and a way for me to feel satisfied about my life.

I recognize how much of a problem this is for me but on my own it’s difficult to give it up.

Every time I get a like on Instagram or Facebook, a favorite on Twitter, or a new follower on this blog, it’s an ego boost for me.  In a large way it really fuels my confidence.  It’s that “people really like me” feeling that we all crave and that our generation is fully and completely addicted to.

Is this really wrong? Is it wrong to want to feel loved? Important? Popular?

No, it’s not wrong.  The thing that is wrong about social media is that it starts making us compare our lives to others lives.  In reality, you are only seeing someone’s highlight reel.  All of a sudden you start comparing yourself to others instead of just being satisfied in your own life.

In my eyes, it’s like a popularity contest.  It’s attention seeking.  Instead of sitting still and being happy with our own lives, we compare them to our friends, people we don’t know, and people we may have only met once.

Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox now.

By giving up social media for a week, I found myself feeling more content.  I was extremely busy so I wouldn’t say it gave me more free time, but it allowed me to use that free time in a different way.

I wasn’t conflicted on whether to catch up on my blogs or read my Bible before bed.

I wasn’t preoccupying myself with other people’s lives, instead I was focusing on my own.

I wasn’t reaching for the gratification of the masses to get me through the week, instead I was talking to my family and my closest friends about it.

I felt better without social media.  For the first time ever I had a stressful week that didn’t result in a meltdown halfway through.  I was able to devote more time to God and I felt more content and satisfied than I would have if I was getting Instagram likes or Twitter favorites.

Moving forward, I’m considering deactivating my Facebook account again (I did it last year for a period of time) and I’m going to try to be more disciplined with the amount of time I spend on some of the other social media sites.  Honestly, I hate Facebook and I don’t really mind saying goodbye to it, but I really do like all my other social media sites.  I think I’ll feel better if I limit my time on them and really think about why I’m on them and how it’s making me feel.

Leave a Reply

