Dietetic Internship · Food Service · Life · Running · Tofu · Weekly Recap · Wine

Week 23 Recap

005

 

Yup, that’s me with a microphone on.  Freaked out.  Glad I wore black so no one could see me sweating.

I ended my rotation in food service this week and my last big project I had to complete was a presentation on sugar.  I’ve tried a few times to write a post summarizing what my presentation covered but every time I’ve gotten overwhelmed.  In fact, my entire 5 week journey with the topic of sugar was overwhelming.  There is literally so much information available and I had so many options of routes that I could take with sugar that it took me a substantial amount of time to make any progress.

Overall, I think the presentation went well.  The audience wasn’t as big as I had hoped it would be but those who did show up were very receptive and obviously had an interest in the topic because they were ready with questions at the end.  After I wrapped everything up and took off my mic, I still had people coming up and sharing their stories and experiences with me, which was absolutely wonderful!  My goal was to increase their awareness of sugar and show them how the food at the retirement community is better than some of the other foods they may be eating if they were relying on a lot of processed foods.

I think my preceptor also appreciated me ending on a “the food here is great!” note since my presentation as a whole had the potential to really cause her some problems.

It was a great learning experience through and through.  From my previous job as a peer advisor I was already pretty comfortable talking into a mic (since we used to do lots of presentations to prospective students in a big auditorium) but I’ve never worn an ear mic before.  I actually had to tape it behind me ear because my hair kept pulling at it.  I also had some of my facts questioned which makes me think twice about the resources I used to gather information.  It’s all a learning experience.

On Wednesday I headed up to Forest Grove to spend the day at a different retirement community and shadow the RD there.  I really enjoyed it and I love being able to visit different facilities and see how different things are done.

Thursday I did my orientation at the city hospital in the morning so I’m all set to start on Monday! I’ve got my badge and all my clearances taken care of which is a relief.  Since I was able to turn in my massive binder right when I got to the retirement community on Thursday I was able to spend the rest of they day doing the first section of my hospital study guide.  Then I met up with a friend who I know from college/church/sorority and had a glass of wine with her while we got to catch up.  It was a great way to end the craziest 5 weeks of my internship so far!

Friday was a class day, same old there.  I scurried out the door once we were done because I was dying to just have some relaxing me time for a change!  I went to the gym and had a great workout, picked up some take out for dinner, caught up on some reading and Survivor, and went to bed early.

I woke up at 7 am this morning feeling so refreshed!

012

 

The sunshine was trying so hard to break through the clouds!

I have the Shamrock Run tomorrow in Portland.  It’s  a 15k (9.3 miles) so I went on a short run this morning (~2 miles) and had a big, carb loaded lunch.  I also tried to really bump up my carbs yesterday too.  I’m making teriyaki bowls for dinner (mostly because I’ve been craving tofu and broccoli) so I am pretty confident I will be okay for my race tomorrow.  About 4 of the 9 miles are a gradual incline, but once you get to mile 5.5 it’s all downhill.  I just need to get to that point!

I’m headed up to Portland this evening since my race is at 7:40 am.  I’ll have a recap post about it soon because it’s supposed to be a great run!

 

One thought on “Week 23 Recap

Leave a Reply

