Dietetic Internship · Food Service · Holidays · Running · Weekly Recap

Week 22 Recap

014

 

This week was insanely busy!  It started with me sporting my sorority badge to my rotation, because Monday was National Badge Day.  I’m so proud to wear the symbol of my beloved Chi Omega when I get the chance!

Tuesday was my Mardi Gras meal!!! It was such a HUGE success.  I was a nervous mess all day though.  In and out of the kitchen helping with stuff, making decorations, hanging decorations, and then visiting residents in the dining room to get their feedback.

027

 

The crepe paper flowers I made were by far my favorite decoration.  I also made fun facts sheets for all the tables which I think added a nice touch to the dining room!

035

 

My menu included shrimp jambalaya, Cajun chicken, red beans and rice, collard greens with bacon, whipped yams, quartered beets, and corn bread.

038

 

The biggest success by far was the Cajun chicken, which was a new recipe I introduced and was SUPER nervous about.  I’ll share it with you guys soon because it’s amazingly delicious!

Once the meal was over it was a huge weight lifted from my shoulders! The rest of the week was full of lots of busy work.  I’ve managed to complete quite a few of my smaller projects and my wellness proposal that I’ve been working on.

I have my presentation on sugar on Tuesday that I’m really nervous for and then a huge green dining project and then I’m done!  I actually kind of want to cry because I feel like I have so much to do, but I know I’ll get it all done.

I went on an 8 mile run this morning and I ended up with a pretty bad headache this afternoon, probably from it, hormones, stress, and the weather changing all combined.  Luckily I’ve gotten it under control so I’m going to be able to work more on my presentation tonight!

I’ve got a full week and then the Shamrock Run next weekend! My roommate is going to be gone all week, I’m sad 😦

Hope you’re getting a touch of spring! We surely aren’t here.  Got a little tease yesterday and then back to rain today.

Gotta love Oregon!

Leave a Reply

