Community Nutrition · Dietetic Internship · Life · Pears · Running · Weekly Recap

Week 21 Recap

014

 

Good morning! Good morning! Good morning! 

To the tune of some song on a commercial that has for some reason nestled itself into my brain this morning….

Anyways, I think my foodservice rotation is literally going to kill me, so it’s probably a good thing that I turned my calendar to March yesterday and now have this hanging on my wall for the remainder of my time there.  It’s not that I don’t like the rotation, it’s just literally running me into the ground.  I have so much to do there!

The good thing is, no one would ever leave that rotation with a false idea of what a job in food service is like! It’s intense and it’s busy and it’s a lot of problem solving and creativity.

I’m on the fence about food service, I can’t decide if I would actively seek out a job in it right away.

Anyways, one of the other interns, Anne, started her rotation at the same retirement community I’m at on Monday.  Her schedule had to  be switched around and now we’re there together for 3 weeks! It’s great to have someone to bounce ideas off of and I feel less like I’m just stashed away in my office working on projects.

Tuesday we were on campus at OSU for the Moore Family Center for Whole Grain Foods, Nutrition, and Preventive Health’s Annual Food, Nutrition, and Health Update.  Wow that was a mouthful!  It was a day full of talks learning all about whole grain’s and how they relate to our health.  Bob Moore, the founder and CEO of Bob’s Red Mill, was there and gave a talk too.  He is so wonderful! I should have gotten a picture with him but I can always go visit his store up in Milwaukie for lunch if I really want that.

005

 

I also got to wear my new pear shirt and got so many compliments on it! Thanks J. Crew 🙂

The rest of the week was busy juggling multiple projects at once.  My Mardi Gras meal is on Tuesday and I’ve got it mostly squared away, which is good.  I’ve got some decorations but I might get more if my preceptor is okay with it.  I’m getting reimbursed for everything I buy so I’m trying not to go too overboard with the cost.

I felt really sick on Friday and yesterday I was supposed to run 7 miles but I still felt really weak so I just went to the gym and did a short workout.  Of course now it’s steady rain all day (my weather app literally says 100% for every hour that I can see) so I’ve got a wet wet run in my future today after church.  Then I’m making some buffalo chicken mac and cheese! Plus doing another mountain of work on projects.

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

