Dietetic Internship · Food Service · Life · Weekly Recap

Week 19 Recap

21d9002c96763dd7b3b7d033e7c1f68e

 

I totally went MIA last week because I was way too busy.  I hope that doesn’t become a habit but I once again realized how insanely busy my life is when I have to commute! I actually don’t have enough time to fit everything I want to do into my days anymore.  Since I graduated college I’ve been much better at sleeping 7-8 hours a night and my life is so much better when I give my body and my brain time to recharge!  So as much as I want to skip out on sleep to do more things, I’m trying to take a different approach and allow myself to relax.

I started at the retirement community on Monday and there are some parts of it that I have sincerely enjoyed so far but other parts have made me question a lot of things.   Two days last week I solely devoted to working in the kitchen and learning how everything was run.  I worked with the cooks, the diet aides, and the salad bar prep.

I really enjoyed those two days a lot because it was stuff that I was very comfortable and familiar with and I catch on to those types of tasks extremely quickly so I was able to work independently and be confident about what I was doing.  The other parts of the week I felt a lot of uncertainty and I can’t quite figure it out.  It probably comes down to the fact that I am shy deep down and if I get out of my comfort zone that can really take over.

I think I’m just really overwhelmed by the amount of work I have to do in this rotation and I just can’t focus on a clear path to get them all started and successfully finish them.  A lot of them require venturing out of the office I’m in and for some reason that makes me extremely nervous.  I’m fine with going out into the dining room and talking to the resident’s, so I don’t really understand what’s up.  All I know is I hope that I can get over that this week and start getting some projects rolling!

Leave a Reply

