Child Nutrition · Community Nutrition · Dietetic Internship · Life · Weekly Recap

Week 18 Recap

005

 

This was a week that was supposed to be SUPER busy for me and it turned out being….not so busy at all.

I was finishing up my time at the school district this week which turned out to be a lot less stressful than I had initially anticipated it being.  I had to give a presentation on salad bars Tuesday during the elementary managers meeting and it ended up being very well received which was great.  I was a little nervous going into it because I was addressing some subjects that I thought might put the managers on the defensive, but none of them had any objections to what I was telling them.  I kept it short and sweet and provided them with a handout to reference later.  My preceptor was really pleased with how it went so hopefully the managers make some of the changes I suggested!

I actually finished my projects on Tuesday and I was able to turn them in on Wednesday morning after one final look through.  I spent the rest of Wednesday filling out a really extensive job application for the job I believe would start sometime during the summer.  I know it’s a little early, but I figured it really couldn’t hurt to fill out an application and revise my resume and all that jazz.  If it is a position that I could take (I made it really clear that I’m occupied with this program until the end of June) then I’ll hear by the end of the month about an interview.  It would be so awesome to have a job lined up and not be stressing in a few months!

I left the school district early on Wednesday and had Thursday plans of presenting to one of the undergrad nutrition classes on school nutrition and lunch with my preceptor and everyone else in the food service office.  I woke up to quite a few inches of snow already covering the ground on Thursday morning and a phone call from the university saying they were closing campus because of the “increasingly hazardous weather conditions.”  So obviously my presentation wasn’t happening.  I called my preceptor and she also told me to just stay home.

I made a quick trip to the gym and by the time I left my poor little Corolla was struggling in the snow.  My roommate made it home from work around 10 am in her tiny Civic and we both decided we weren’t driving anywhere else!  The snow continued to fall and we decided to make a trip to get hot chocolate and go to the grocery store to get food.

023

 

We walked around for an hour and came back exhausted but it was so incredibly gorgeous outside!  I love the snow!

We spent the rest of the day watching How I Met Your Mother and the first part of the Olympics.  When we woke up yesterday morning it had already started snowing again!  We decided another trip to the store was necessary, this time for puzzles and Monopoly.  We took a measuring tape with us and measured anywhere from 9-10 inches of snow, depending on where we were.  Crazy!!

We played Monopoly, started our puzzle, cooked, watched the birds go crazy over our bird feeder, and ended the day by watching the entire 4 hour opening ceremony for the Olympics.  Late in the afternoon we measured again and the snow was 13 inches.  By the time the snow stopped around 10 pm we had to have had much more.

We woke up to freezing rain this morning so it’s probably going to turn into an ice slick outside.  We inspected the snow and it was already getting icy and compacted.  I’m thinking our only adventure outside today will probably be to get the mail.  Otherwise it’ll be more puzzle, Monopoly, and Olympics for us.  Probably plus some wine or beer 🙂

035028007

 

I’m extremely thankful I have a roommate that I enjoy spending time with, that we live in walking distance of a few stores, and that we haven’t lost power.

If you’re also experiencing this abnormal weather, stay safe!

Leave a Reply

