Child Nutrition · Community Nutrition · Dietetic Internship · Life · Weekly Recap

Week 15 Recap

grateful

 

This quote pretty much sums up the view I am trying to take on life right now.   I’m trying really hard to focus on the good and be grateful for the good.  Truly, I have a lot to be grateful for and putting the focus on that and recognizing it is something I’m really trying to work on.

That being said, I can’t believe I have already completed 2 weeks at the school district.  I actually only have 12 days left there total even though the calendar says 3 weeks.  I had a small panic attack when I just realized that because honestly I’ve been super lazy and have done virtually nothing so far.

I unintentionally completed one of my projects on Tuesday when I volunteered to help with a tasting table at one of the elementary schools.  Every month there is a Local Highlight day on the menu where one of the menus items features mostly local ingredients.  Of course things like spices aren’t going to be local, but most of the other ingredients are.  A grant from Farm to School is used to fuel this so anything that is purchased for school lunches that is either grown, processed, or raised in Oregon can be reimbursed.

We were sampling what was being called a “Carrot Wrap” to the kids.  Since it would have been really impractical to sample it in wrap form we just sampled the insides with tortilla chips.  The filling consisted of quinoa, black beans, carrots, and cheese mixed with some spices, including cumin.  Minus the spices, all the other ingredients were local!

chips

I forgot to take a picture (I fully intended to!) so I had to take this one off Facebook.  Unfortunately, you can’t really see the filling.  The kids loved the little cups though! While they were eating we went around sampling them.  They also had the chance to try them before they came into the cafeteria if they wanted because we had a sample tray outside.  We ran out of the actual wraps on the tray line so the kids were really open to trying them which was awesome!  They all really enjoyed the flavor and texture of the filling too when they sampled it.  It was so awesome to see them trying new things and loving them!

I have some reservations about whether or not I would ever want to do community nutrition as a career but experiences like that one make me think I might like it.  The only bad part is I know that’s not how it is all the time.  I really hate being stuck in an office all day answering emails.

Nothing super notable happened for the rest of the week, it was kind of blah.

Last night my GGLittle Kelsie had her 21er celebration!  She actually turned 21 at the beginning of the month but waited until this weekend to celebrate.

037

 

Isn’t she cute?

We all had a lot of fun! My other GGLittle Conchita turns 21 on Wednesday so we get to do it all again that night!

I’m currently watch the 49ers vs. Seahawks game and I’m happy to report that right now the 49ers are winning!  Hoping it stays that way!

I have tomorrow off because the school district actually recognizes MLK Day as a holiday and hasn’t taken it away to make up for snow days, like they did President’s Day, so I get a 3 day weekend! I’m super excited.

Hope everyone has had a relaxing weekend!

2 thoughts on “Week 15 Recap

  1. Ugh Rita I totally had the same feeling during my rotation in community nutrition also. You’ll get through it! It’s definitely draining! It really helps you figure out what you *don’t* want to be doing as a dietitian (aka i didn’t become a dietitian to do PAPER WORK all day!)
    keep your head up <3333

    Kate

    1. The worst part is I’m supposed to be a “senior nutrition care” emphasis but I’m still stuck with 3 community rotations!!! The only saving grace is in 3 weeks I’ll be done and moving on. I’m glad someone else shares my opinion about this, everyone else in my program is a lot more into community nutrition than I am, I feel like the black sheep over here grumbling about my rotations haha.

      Hope all is well with you!

Leave a Reply

