Child Nutrition · Community Nutrition · Dietetic Internship · Life · Weekly Recap

Week 14 Recap

0f5140b92c86e9330ec772eb8fa25db5

 

I decided a little 2 week hiatus from blogging was needed but I’m glad to be back!

Truthfully, it’s difficult to blog when there are things happening in your life that are not appropriate to share with a public audience and, unfortunately, there has been a lot happening that I just can’t share for one reason or another.  The good thing is that since I am unable to share them, blogging gives me a reason to focus on other, more important aspects of my life.  It’s nice to shift the focus away from the negative every once and a while.

Anyways, winter break ended and on Monday I had my first day at the school district. I tell you, community nutrition is not my thing.  I like being busy and I like having the ability to work independent of my preceptor and be productive.  So far, my community nutrition rotations have not allowed me to do that just because of the nature of them.  I’m trying to remain positive though because I know the more I dread this rotation, the longer it will seem to drag out.

So far I haven’t done anything too overly exciting.  I’ve gotten to go to a handful of schools and see the lunch service, which is kind of nice because it’s something to do and takes at least an hour of my time.  The schools are all really different so seeing the different ways that lunch is served is actually really interesting.  I should start a journal of how the lunch service goes since I will be going out on my own eventually.

Tomorrow I think I’ll get to go back out to one of the rural elementary schools that I was at last week.  The school is K-4 and has 25 students, 5 of which are in kindergarten and go home before lunch.  The bus that comes to get the kindergartners actually delivers lunch for the remaining students.  They have a cafeteria worker who then comes in and serves around 18 of the 20 remaining kids lunch.

It takes about 20 minutes to get all the kids through the lunch line, which is around a minute per kid.  Now that might now sound like a lot of time, but picture yourself going through a cafeteria line, how long does it take when you only have 2 options to choose from? About 20 seconds.

There are some obvious problems out there and we’ll be returning tomorrow to start a new system that should speed things up quite a bit.  I think it’s going to be met with some resistance from the woman who works the cafeteria (actually I know it will be) but I’m sure the kids will catch right on!

I hope things pick up so I have more to share about this rotation!  I did make some yummy curry that I’ll share later this week and I’m going to try really hard to keep up with Topic of the Week posts.

Hope everyone has had a good start to their New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

