Beaver Football · Chocolate · Cookies · Holidays · Ruby · Weekly Recap

I’ll Be Home for Christmas

003

 

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas!  I know I was beyond thankful to be home this year.  I drove home on Monday and the ten hour drive seemed to take forever because I was so anxious to get home!

I got greeted by a happy puppy as usual and I made it home in time for dinner so I got to have a chicken tostada from my favorite Mexican restaurant almost immediately.  I was a happy happy girl!  If there is one thing I really miss about my home town it’s the authentic Mexican food that is so easy to find.  I love Mexican food, I could live off of it.

After a full day of driving and a full belly of food I ended up going to bed fairly early.  I was exhausted!  Before I went to bed my dad told me he would be going to Body Pump at the gym at 5 AM and asked if I wanted to join him.  My first thought was no way because of how early it was, but then I thought about how much I love Body Pump so I told my dad I would set my alarm and then see how I felt in the morning.

At the ungodly hour of 4:30 AM, my alarm went off and I got up.  I threw on some workout clothes, pulled my hair up, and cut up a pear for my dad and I to eat on the way to the gym.  I was definitely glad that I forced myself to get up once I got there.  Body Pump is such a great class!  It totally kicks my butt but it helped me lose weight fast after college so I can testify that it really will change your body if you stick with it.  I love the challenge of it.  When it starts to get easy all you have to do is increase your weight and the challenge is back!

The instructor that taught Body Pump also teaches spin classes, so even though there wasn’t a class being offered at 6 AM, she told us if we wanted we could “congregate” in the spin room and she would put on music.  So my dad and I went and did a makeshift spin class after Body Pump.  Holy cow, I thought I was going to die!  My legs were on fire!

After a morning of working out I spent the rest of the morning relaxing.

Someone thought I could use a cuddle buddy, apparently…

013

 

She’s not supposed to get on the couch.  She listens so well…

My mom put me to work picking lettuce from the garden so I picked a ton!  We’ll have plenty for the rest of the time I’m home.

016

 

So much lettuce!

The Beavers played in the Hawaii Bowl on Christmas Eve night so we made a quick meal of leftover frozen lasagna and then watched the Beavers win! It was great to relax and watch a football game with my dad.

Christmas morning started early, I got up a little after 7 and we ended up starting presents around 8:30.  We had quiche for breakfast, as usual, and then all sat down to unwrap presents.  My grandma came over around 9:15 to join us.  I think the best part of the day was watching Ruby unwrap her presents and prance around with them.  She is just too cute sometimes!

048

 

She got so spoiled.

I got a ton of chocolate like I usually do, not complaining at all about that!

008

 

My parents are totally feeding my chocolate obsession haha.

Once presents were done I got going on some gingerbread cookies.  My dad had some dough that he bought so all I had to do was roll it out, cut out the cookies, and bake them.

I’m not the best at decorating cookies, they all looked  a little bit silly…

010

 

They tasted good though!

After we stuffed ourselves with Christmas dinner, complete with ham, scalloped potatoes, peas, rolls, jello, pear crisp, vanilla ice cream, wine and coffee, it was time to do a million dishes and then crash on the couch for the rest of the day.

I’ve been eating leftovers for the last two days so I’m really excited to go out to dinner tonight!  I’m a little tired of ham and potatoes….

 

Leave a Reply

