Breakfast · Potato

My Favorite Way to Use Leftover Roasted Potatoes

015

 

Remember the roasted potato recipe I posted a while ago? Well, I saved a Tupperware of them before I took them to the get together solely so I could make this delicious dish pictured above.

I love breakfast more than any other meal and a lot of the time I’ll make breakfast for dinner since I just don’t have enough time to make good breakfast food in the morning.  Potato and egg scrambles have always been a favorite of mine but recently I started putting spinach and black beans with potatoes and putting an over easy egg over the top.  I love the runny yolk running all over everything!

Since I’m sure everyone is drowning in Thanksgiving leftovers right now, this is a great way to use up any of those leftover roasted potatoes!

My Favorite Leftover Potatoes Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 5-6 whole roasted baby potatoes
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 handful baby spinach
  • red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup salsa

Directions:

  1. Heat the olive oil in a skillet.  Add the garlic, onion, and pepper flakes and saute a few minutes until the onion becomes translucent.
  2. Cut up some potatoes, add them into the skillet. Cook for a few minutes to warm them up.
  3. Add in black beans and spinach. Cook until spinach is wilted.  Remove from pan onto a plate for serving.
  4. Cook the egg + egg white over easy in the skillet.
  5. Top the potatoes with salsa and the egg and serve with a side of toast.

 

I got a notification from WordPress on Thanksgiving notifying me that I have had this blog for a year.  Already?  Actually, it seems much longer than that….

I’ll be back on Sunday with a weekly recap, it’s been a busy week!

 

Leave a Reply

