Dietetic Internship · Weekly Recap

Week 3 Recap

008

Happy Monday!

My life is nuts.

I went up to Portland this weekend to work two full shift as Assistant Dietary Manager, and I unexpectedly also got to do dinner service as a diet aide on Saturday.  It was tiring, crazy, and it flew by, but it was so so so nice to just fall back into the swing of things there.  I miss my coworkers a lot and between the two days I was able to see every single one of them which was just awesome.  I even got a card from them and some post it’s on my desk saying “Good Morning Rita!” when I got there on Saturday.

I am so incredibly lucky.  I have never had a job or group of coworkers that I haven’t loved and I hope that my future jobs bring me as much joy as my previous ones have.

One Saturday night I was able to go to my great grand big’s going away party.  She was a senior in my sorority when I was a freshman and although I hardly spent any time with her in college, we’ve always had a great friendship and have a lot in common.  She’s joining the Army and leaves for basic training on October 28.  Meghan, Kayla, and I all went and it was great to see her and catch up with some of our other friends.

As for last week at my internship, nothing notable happened until Friday.  I got to conduct my plate waste study that I had been preparing earlier in the week and it was an interesting experience.  After developing the procedure and measuring tool earlier during the week, thanks to some help from some previous interns (thanks Lynette and Tracy!), it was finally time to conduct my study!  I was actually extremely nervous because I am not very good with kids and I wasn’t sure how it was going to go to sit at a table with them and watch them eat lunch.

I went into my first class and immediately a little boy goes “Why are you here?”

AHHHHHHHHH!

Once I had collected my data I was so relieved.  It was incredibly awkward and uncomfortable.  The teachers and student teachers are jsut so good at their jobs, I have no idea how they do it.  I think I’ve said it before, but I’ve gained so much respect for teachers being there.  They do an amazing thing for their students.

My study didn’t exactly yield the results I expected but that gave me more to write about in the evaluation.  I’ve also been able to check off almost all of my competencies for this rotation.  I’m really not sure what I’m going to do until October 25.

Today starts week 4 of my internship and I officially only have 8 days left at the preschool.

Yes, I am counting down.

Yes, I finally looked at the stuff for my next rotation at a rural hospital and had a panic attack.

So I made myself some pasta for dinner and relaxed, naturally.  I’ll deal with it later.

019

 

Om nom nom.

Oh yeah, and I got this fun new toy:

002

 

Thanks to Meghan and a few glasses of wine I successfully set this baby up on Friday night and I am obsessed.  I HATE technology.  I think it has destroyed the way humans interact and caused a lot of problems in our world.

However, I can’t escape it.  So I might as well have a shiny new phone.

I’m a hypocrite, I know.

Goodnight 🙂

Leave a Reply

