Dietetic Internship · Life · Weekly Recap · Wine

Week 2 Recap

015

It’s October and it’s finally starting to look like fall! Okay, so it was 77 degrees today, not very fall like by Oregon standards, but I won’t complain about one last glimpse of warmth before it disappears until June.  I love this time of year and going on a run yesterday I was way too distracted by all the scenery.  I’m just in love with Oregon, plain and simple.  I also love living on the outskirts of Corvallis cuz I don’t have to run where a lot of people are around and I can get out into the country where the scenery is simply breath taking.

As my dad says, “I have found my people.”

You bet I have!

I have also found these fun little friends to watch in the wetlands…

029

First I scared them and they scared me, so they scurried into the foliage.  I waited for them to come back out because from first glance I thought they were rabbits in the water, which would be weird, and then I thought they were tiny beavers.  They have skinny tails though so I think they’re river otters? I couldn’t get a good look at their feet. Aren’t they cute though???

Anyways, so I survived my first full week of rotations.  Besides the fact that I’m obsessed with all the interns and wish I could spend every day with them, I don’t really have anything new to report.  Nothing super interesting in our didactic day class and the preschool was just nuts all week.  I’m curious to see what tomorrow will be like with the kids.

I hope it picks up things a lot because even though I’m enjoying my experience so far and love my preceptor and the family advocates I’m working with, it’s just not my niche of dietetics and I already know it.  I used to really think I wanted to do community nutrition, back when I first started my nutrition major, but that focus shifted about a year ago.  Unless something changes in the next 3 weeks I think I will be able to say that that is really not the direction I want to go.  That realization has been a pretty big double edged sword for me.  On one hand it’s great that my initial decision to do the senior nutrition care focus isn’t going to be something I’m regretting.  I don’t foresee myself wishing I had done community.  However, on the other hand, it’s unfortunate because I do still have 3 weeks left where I am now and I will get a dabbling in a few other areas of community nutrition through out my internship.

I’m staying as positive as I can.  I’m not going to lie though, right now I’m totally ready to get into my next rotation.  I’m ready to be in a hospital!

As a congratulations to ourselves on completing our first 5 day week (like we had a choice…) one of the other interns, Jill, and I enjoyed some wine on Friday night.  Barefoot had a new red blend out so I decided to give it a try…

013

There isn’t much too this wine at all.  Not much complexity.  I did thoroughly enjoy it though!  It’s a good wine for just drinking.  In fact, we probably could have downed the entire bottle if we didn’t exhibit some self control on that front.

012

So classy.

Anyways, I’ve been in quite the cooking mood lately, so a few recipe posts will be on their way soon!

3 thoughts on “Week 2 Recap

    1. Really??? I thought that might be what they were but I had never seen one before. I sat and watched them munch away at the water plants for about 10 minutes, they are kind of adorable little creatures haha

Leave a Reply

