Asian Inspirations · Beaver Football · Chicken · Dietetic Internship · Weekly Recap

Week 1 Recap + Cashew Chicken

010

I was slacking a little earlier this weekend and just couldn’t get myself to post.  Yesterday was a Beaver game and it started at noon, so naturally we were tailgating by 10 am and that caught up to me by late afternoon.  Too many mimosas.  I also think I ate about a dozen cookies over the course of tailgating, along with a hot dog, half a hamburger, and a few baby twix bars, so I think I’m good on my junk food intake for a while…

It was also a rainy rainy game.  I had an overflow student ticket for some random section on the old side of the stadium but luckily my awesome friend Samantha, who I always tailgate with, had me sit with her since her dad had more interest in hanging out in the parking lot and drinking beer.  So we had covered seats and a great view on the 40 yard line.  I love watching football with Samantha because she loves it as much as I do and knows the game really well so it’s just a lot of fun.  We used to camp out for tickets for games together when we were in undergrad and then sit in the student section together so it just felt right to be back in Reser watching the Beavs play with her.

Thursday and Friday of my internship were pretty laid back.  My preceptor and I spent a lot of time going through emergency contact forms and compiling a binder of information for all the kids that have food allergies, including if they need to have medication at school in the case that they accidentally get food they are allergic to (which would not be ideal!).

I also spent a period of time, about half the on Thursday, combining the breakfast and lunch menus from the school district and then updating the spreadsheet that goes in the kitchen to tell the student workers what kids need substitutions for what foods based on what the menu for the day is.  Nothing complicated, but pretty tedious.

I’m also done with a draft of my  picky eating handout! I was alone on Friday because my preceptor typically works at a WIC clinic on Monday and Friday so I had a lot of time to work independently.  There were literally about 3 other people in the building so I spent some time wandering and meeting them.  I did a lot of chatting on Friday but it was nice to be able to roam the building with minimal people there.  I also left at around 3pm because it had been so quiet that I got a ton done in a short period of time.

Tomorrow the OSU students start so it will be exciting to be on campus with all of them.  I’ll undoubtedly get sentimental…

Now to share a recipe with you that I made last week….

Spicy Cashew Chicken

Original recipe from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 4 Tablespoons soy sauce, divided
  • black pepper
  • 2/3 cup fat-free, reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 2 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons sambal oleke chili sauce
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Tablespoons canola oil, divided
  • 1 stalk celery, sliced thinly on the bias
  • 1 large carrot, sliced thinly on the bias
  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • 1 1/2 cups snap peas (or snow peas)
  • 1/2 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 8oz cup sliced water chestnuts
  • 1 15oz chopped canned baby corn
  • 3/4 cup cashews
  • 2 cup uncooked brown rice, cooked according to package directions

Directions

  1. Toss together chicken, 1 Tablespoon soy sauce, plus a couple grinds of black pepper in a bowl then set aside.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine remaining soy sauce, broth, brown sugar, chili sauce, and garlic. Microwave for 20 seconds in the microwave, then stir and set aside.
  3. Heat 1 Tablespoon oil in a lark wok or skillet over high heat. Add chicken and cook until no longer pink on the outside, about 2-3 minutes.
  4. Add celery, carrot, broccoli, snow peas, onion, and remaining oil if needed, then stir fry for 5-6 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender. Add water chestnuts and baby corn, then stir to combine.
  5. Add the sauce and cashews to the the wok, then let sauce bubble for 2 minutes. Serve over cooked rice.

006

I’m not going to lie, I hate carrots and I have NO idea why I included them.  I will omit them if I make this again, they were just not worth the color.  Maybe sub them with some red bell peppers?

Anyways, this was spicy and delicious! I over cooked some of my veggies (well, I burnt them) but other than that they were great!  The leftovers also held nicely.  I always divide my leftovers evenly and then put rice on the top so it’s all in one tupperware when I’m ready to eat them.

Tomorrow starts week 2! I’m anxious to see what it has in store for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

