Asian Inspirations · Chicken

Sesame Chicken

As promised, I have a recipe for you all!

If you haven’t noticed, I have a thing for Asian inspired recipes.  I’m just a big fan of anything I can cook all together in a skillet and throw over some rice.  They also usually make the best leftovers!  Of course, nothing beats greasy Chinese take out (garlic chicken, anyone?) but the homemade stuff isn’t half bad either.  It’s also probably about 100% better for you and won’t clog your arteries.

001

This recipe came together pretty quickly and with the exception of sesame seeds and green onions, I already had everything else in my kitchen.

I overcooked my broccoli and that was the only disappointment I had.  I hate when broccoli mushes and falls apart, I like it crisp! Also, if I make this again I will put about twice as much broccoli in, but that’s just because it’s my favorite vegetable.

I could eat a whole head of steamed broccoli for dinner and be one happy camper! I’m weird, I know.

004

I also need to work on my food photography, but we’ve already established that almost every time I post a recipe….

Sesame Chicken

Original recipe by Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2-1/2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 small chicken breasts (12oz), cut into 2″ pieces
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame oil
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 cups broccoli florets

Directions:

  1. Prepare rice according to package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, combine honey, sesame seeds, soy sauce, and garlic together in a small bowl then set aside.
  3. In a separate larger bowl, whisk together egg white and cornstarch until smooth. Season chicken pieces with salt and pepper then add to egg white mixture and toss to evenly coat.
  4. In a small saucepan, steam broccoli until crisp tender then set aside.
  5. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat, then carefully add chicken. Cook for 3-4 minutes a side, or until cooked through. Turn off heat and remove skillet from burner.
  6. Add prepared sauce and green onions then toss to combine.
  7. Stir in broccoli, then scoop mixture into bowls over cooked rice.

006

The end result was pretty tasty! It was slightly sweeter than I was expecting but I enjoyed it!

Now it’s time for me to go watch some football with some friends. GO BEAVS!

Leave a Reply

