Breakfast · Eggs · Quinoa · Vegetarian

Breakfast Sandwich! With a twist…

Hello all!  Today has been marvelous so far.  I rarely have weekend days off and last night I found myself planning all the things I needed to do during my days off and realized that I can’t really do any of them on a Sunday, so I have a day to do nothing but relax! I’m headed over to my friend’s house after this to relax in the sunshine by her pool, sounds like a perfect way to spend the day!

Since my work day usually starts at 6 AM, I really enjoy being able to make myself breakfast on my days off.   I was really feeling a breakfast sandwich this morning and since for once I actually had everything I needed to make once (miracle) breakfast was a no brainer.

I follow Peanut Butter Fingers and have for a while now and always see her breakfast posts.  When she makes breakfast sandwiches, she puts jelly on them, something I thought was a bit strange at first.  For some reason this morning I was all for trying something different so I thought I would give it a try.  Oh. My. Goodness.  It was delicious!

Go make a breakfast sandwich and put jelly on it, right now!

You’re welcome in advance.

004

Sweet and Salty Breakfast Sandwich

Inspired by this

Ingredients (for the way I made it this morning).

  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg white
  • 1 slice cheddar cheese
  • 1 whole wheat sandwich thin
  • 1 tbsp strawberry jam
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Fry up the eggs to your liking.  Sometimes I enjoy a softer yolk but this morning I broke the yolk so it cooked hard.
  2. While your eggs are frying, pop the sandwich thin into the toaster or toaster oven to warm.
  3. Once the bread is warm, take one side, add the slice of cheese, and broil in the toaster oven to melt.
  4. Spread the other side with strawberry jam.  I used this delicious Strawberry Pinot Noir fruit spread I got from the Made in Oregon store.  It is like strawberry heaven in a jar!
  5. Once egg is cooked, place it on top of the melted cheese side and complete the sandwich with the jelly side.

003This sandwich was a little messy (as are most things that I eat) and I wish I would have had an English muffin instead of a sandwich thin.  All in all, it was exactly what I was wanting for breakfast and kept me full until lunch!

I also hit up the farmer’s market this morning.  Oregon market’s are so different than California ones.  I miss working for the farm and getting free fruit and veggies! Stone fruit is so expensive up here!

I did get some phenomenal blueberries though, and some kettle corn, of course 🙂

007And I couldn’t say no to corn, zucchini, and potatoes. Yum!

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Sandwich! With a twist…

Leave a Reply

