Asian Inspirations · Life · Tofu · Vegetarian

Teriyaki Rice “Bowls”

It has finally started to hit me that my time in Portland is drawing to a close. My roommate has moved out, I officially have only 1 month left at work, a few days after that I’m running my second half marathon, and then I move to Corvallis. I will have approximately 17 days of free time, no job, no internship, nothing to do.  As someone who thrives in a fast paced, busy environment the thought of having nothing to do actually gives me a large amount of anxiety! I am basically in denial that my life is about to be turned upside down again.

Tomorrow morning I am doing my long run for the week, 10 miles this time, so I thought it would be nice if I made myself a balanced dinner to fuel me up for my run.  Carbs, protein, and loooots of yummy veggies. I have been craving Asian food like none other lately.  Ever since we had teriyaki chicken at work last week I have been wanting it all. the. time.

As much as I would love to be a full time vegetarian, it’s just not working for me at this point.  I have fallen into the habit of not buying meat and cooking only vegetarian meals at home.  That is one reason I love cooking for myself, I can control absolutely everything I put into my body.  It’s so easy to just not buy meat and not have it as an option to eat.  BTW, I do the same thing with foods that I can’t stop eating once I start. Like ice cream and M&M’s. Mmmmm…..

The problem with this vegetarian thing is simple: I work in foodservice. There is always meat! Always! And if there is bacon and I am hungry, yeah, I’m gonna eat a piece of bacon.  If there is teriyaki chicken and a salad seems like the most unsatisfying lunch possible that day, yeah, I’m gonna eat the chicken.

That’s just the way it is right now and I am okay with it.  I’ll still eat my tofu when I’m at home 🙂

Teriyaki Rice “Bowls”

Ingredients:

  • 15 oz tofu, pressed and cubed
  • 1 large head of broccoli
  • 1/2 cup uncooked brown rice
  • teriyaki sauce of your choosing

Directions:

  1. In a medium to large sauce pan, bring 1 cup of water to a boil.  Add rice and reduce heat to low.  Simmer rice for 30-45 minutes until all water is absorbed.
  2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  3. Toss tofu in enough teriyaki sauce to coat.
  4. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil and spread tofu evenly.  Bake for 30 minutes, flipping halfway through.
  5. Either steam or saute broccoli.
  6. Once everything is done cooking, assemble “bowls” by layering rice, broccoli, and tofu on a plate.  Alternatively, you could also put them in an actual bowl.
  7. Top with additional teriyaki sauce and enjoy!

Makes 2 servings.

009I am proud to report that this is an ORIGINAL recipe! Yup, that’s right, I have enough cooking skill and knowledge now to say “I want this” and then figure out how to make it. Well, to an extent…

Also, if you caught the fact that I didn’t use brown rice in the picture, I used some leftover rice from take out Thai curry I had recently.  They give you about 3 times as much rice as you could possibly consume with the curry, so I put it to use tonight.

I am also getting better at food photography! Yeah!

Happy Monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

