Breakfast · Eggs · Vegetarian

Crustless Quiche!

Yeah, it’s been forever, I know.  I’ve not necessarily been too busy to cook, I’ve just been too lazy.  Plus the hot weather makes me not want to cook anything that is going to heat up the apartment since we don’t have air conditioning.  No lie, I’ve been living off of veggie burgers and corn on the cob.  Yes, that still heats up the kitchen a bit, but not nearly as much since I can broil the corn in my toaster oven and microwave the veggie burger.

Quiche has been showing up a lot on the menu at work lately, apparently it’s a staple on the summer cycle menu, don’t ask me why.  Anyways, I have seriously been loving it!  I have always been a huge fan of quiche and my mom always makes it every Christmas for breakfast.  It’s just so simple and delicious!  However, I sincerely hate pie crust with every fiber of my being and refuse to eat it, so I always pick it away from the egg filling.  Now not only is this a hassle it also means I lose the little bits of filling that have affixed themselves to the egg which annoys me.

When I found this recipe for crustless quiche I got way too excited.  Then I felt like a total idiot for not thinking of the idea on my own, but sometimes I’m not the most creative person out there!

The next day I made two quiche (yes, I am obsessed) and munched on them for the rest of the week.  I think I’m all quiched out for a while now!

Crustless Quiche

Original recipe and inspiration here

Ingredients:

For quiche “base”

  • 6 eggs
  • ½ cup part-skim cheddar cheese, shredded
  • ½ cup nonfat milk
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp black pepper

Add in whatever veggies/meat you desire.  For one I added the white part of two leeks, sliced, and for the other I added about a dozen asparagus stalks cut into one inch pieces.

Quiche is extremely versatile and is good with spinach, bell peppers, mushrooms, feta, chicken, bacon, sausage, or whatever else you can think of added in.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Prepare add in ingredients. Cool slightly.
  3. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk eggs, milk, salt and pepper.
  4. Lightly spray a 9-inch pie plate with olive oil. Put add in ingredients in the bottom of the pie plate and evenly pour in mixture.
  5. Bake, uncovered, for 40-50 minutes or until lightly browned. Let sit 5 minutes before serving.

082

Now enjoy your quiche 🙂

Leave a Reply

