Casserole · Vegetarian

Red Beans and Rice with Guacamole

So my meatless month is over half way done and on May 16th I will be able to eat meat again!  The funny thing is, I don’t know if I’m going to or not.  I’m thinking I’ll save meat for more special occasions or situations where there just isn’t really anything meatless that I want to eat.  I’m thinking mostly of restaurants here.  I might slowly adopt a total veggie diet, or I might not, and I’m not too worried about trying to figure it out right now.

One really good thing about this vegetarian diet is it has made me expand my food horizons.   This recipe is not the best representation of that statement, but it was really freaking tasty and I already want to make it again!

This recipe is super simple which I love! I found it off of Eat, Live, Run and I kid you not, within two weeks of her posting the recipe I saw it on multiple other blogs and all over Pinterest.  Probably because no one can resist a super simple recipe AND one that looks delicious.

I tweaked it a little by adding some textured vegetable protein (TVP) along with the rice, mostly to add protein, and because I think I’m a little bit obsessed with trying to find recipes I can use it in.

Anyways, if you’ve never heard of TVP it’s just simply defatted soy protein.  It doesn’t have much flavor on it’s own and is really easily disguised in rice or ground meat dishes.  My mom used to put in her hamburger meat to make it stretch farther and as long as you don’t add too much, it doesn’t affect the flavor or texture.

017

016

I use Bob’s Red Mill, mostly cuz the store is on my way home, but I know it’s easy to find at the grocery store.

Now on the the recipe!

Red Beans and Rice with Guacamole 

Original recipe here

Ingredients:

  •  3/4 cup brown rice, dry
  • 1/4 cup TVP, dry
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 8-oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 14.5 oz can beans {I used kidney beans — drained and rinsed}
  • 1 4-oz can diced green chilies
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 avocados, very ripe
  • 1 whole jalapeno, minced
  • pinch of cumin
  • big pinch of garlic salt
  • juice of 2 limes

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a 9 x 13″ pan, combine the rice, broth, beans, tomato sauce, green chilies, cumin, chili powder, salt and garlic powder. Stir well then cover TIGHTLY with tin foil. Place in oven and bake for 90 minutes and DO NOT peak before the time is up.
  3. To make the guacamole topping, mash the avocados with the minced jalapenos, cumin, garlic salt and lime juice. Season with additional cumin and garlic salt to taste.
  4. Serve rice and beans with a scoop of guacamole on top.

003

I served mine with a side of spinach salad and it was very filling! Go try this, it’s delicious!

Servings: 4

  • Calories: 415
  • Total Fat: 12.7 g
  • Saturated Fat: 1.3 g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg
  • Sodium: 439 mg
  • Total Carbs: 66 g
  • Protein: 13.6 g

If you want to lower the calories and fat content, simply omit the guacamole portion of the recipe.

Leave a Reply

