Breakfast · Oatmeal · Snacks

Gingerbread Protein Breakfast Bars

So far, the meatless month as been a success.  This is day 8 and I’ve discovered that I’m not really craving meat and most of my close calls with almost eating it have simply come from me forgetting.  Luckily I haven’t had any real goofs!

Anyways, a common issue with vegetarians is a lack of protein in the diet.  For me, personally, meat has never been my main source of protein.  Especially with the large amount of running I’ve done in the last 6 months I’ve really started to utilize other protein sources, including protein powder, and I’m always on the lookout for recipes where I can add it in a boost up my protein for the day.  I’ve found that breakfast cookies are by far the easiest way for me to do this but I started to get burnt out of the ones I had been eating.

So the search for something new commenced!

I began browsing the archives of the blogs I frequent and came across this recipe on Peas and Thank You.  I have one of Sarah’s cookbooks and really enjoy reading it and hearing the stories about her family.  Unfortunately, she is taking a hiatus from blogging, but I know I will still use her blog/book as a resource for yummy vegetarian recipes!

009

These bars are perfect for a quick breakfast before I leave for work at 5:30 AM.  I usually eat two breakfasts, one at that time and one at 9 AM when I take my first break, so I like to keep Breakfast #1 light and it has to be something I can eat while I’m packing my lunch and making my coffee.

Gingerbread Protein Breakfast Bars

Original recipe here

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease or spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, oats, protein powder, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg.
  3. In a smaller bowl, combine applesauce, molasses, vanilla and milk.
  4. Add applesauce mixture to oat mixture and stir until just combined.
  5. Pour mixture into baking pan and bake for 20-25 minutes, until bar is set and pulling away from edge of pan.
  6. Allow to cool completely. Cut into squares. Store remaining bars in the fridge.

008

Admittedly not the most appetizing picture, but these bars are really good, I promise!

Servings: 8

  • Calories: 133
  • Total Fat: 1 g
  • Saturated Fat: 0 g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg
  • Sodium: 180 mg
  • Total Carbs: 25.4 g
  • Sugars: 11.2 g
  • Protein: 6.1 g
Leave a Reply

