Running

Half Marathon Playlist

I will be running my first half marathon in the morning, ahhhhh! I’m excited and nervous at the same time. I know I’m ready for this, I just need do it now!

I spent quite a bit of time today working on a playlist for the run.  I’m anticipating finishing in around 2 hours but I made the playlist about 2 and a half hours, just to be safe.  I usually use Pandora on runs and I’ve experienced it freezing and having to take my armband off too many times now so I’m just playing it safe for the actual run.  If there’s anything I hate it’s messing with my phone during a run.

Anyways, this playlist has me pretty pumped up, I’ve been listening to it all day.  I thought I would share 🙂

  • Gimme More- Britney Spears
  • Hold It Against Me- Britney Spears
  • Till the World Ends- Britney Spears
  • I Wanna Go- Britney Spears
  • The Thrill-Burn After Rolling
  • Feel So Close- Calvin Harris
  • Good Girls Go Bad (feat. Leighton Meester)- Cobra Starship
  • You Make Me Feel (feat. Sabi)- Cobra Starship
  • Wagon Wheel- Darius Rucker
  • She Cranks My Tractor- Dustin Lynch
  • Even If It Breaks Your Heart- Eli Young Band
  • Like A G6- Far East Movement
  • Mirrors- Justin Timberlake
  • Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)- Katy Perry
  • Wide Awake- Katy Perry
  • Blow- Ke$ha
  • TikTok- Ke$ha
  • Die Young- Ke$ha
  • I Made It (feat. Birdman, Jay Sean, & Lil Wayne)- Kevin Rudolph
  • Mr. Brightside- The Killers
  • Runaways- The Killers
  • When You Were Young- The Killers
  • Poker Face- Lady Gaga
  • Drop It Low- Lil Wayne
  • Sexy and I Know It- LMFAO
  • Thrift Shop (feat. Wanz)- Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  • Daylight (Trouble Maker Remix feat. De La Soul)- Matt & Kim
  • Get U Home- Shwayze
  • Break Your Heart (feat. Ludacris)- Tiao Cruz
  • Dynamite- Tiao Cruz
  • Red- Taylor Swift
  • Truck Yeah- Tim McGraw
  • Scream & Shout (feat. Britney Spears)- will.i.am
  • Black and Yellow- Wiz Khalifa
  • No Sleep- Wiz Khalifa
  • Here I Am Alive- Yellowcard
  • Double Vision- 3OH!3

I remember the first time I tried to make a running playlist I stuck with ONLY upbeat songs that I thought would pump me up.  I’ve been training for this run since November so I’ve had a lot of time to listen to different kinds of music and I’ve discovered that a lot of the times the upbeat stuff doesn’t get me going as much as the stuff that reminds me of college or fun times.  Like every time I hear Wiz Khalifa’s “No Sleep” I can’t help but get energized because even though it’s a laid back song, I just love it.  It reminds me of spring term junior year and Shasta and all the fun times I had then.  When I tried to get back into running senior year I used to run up a hill on my route and this song actually got me energized enough that I was able to make it up the hill for the first time without walking.

I think that’s why I’m so excited about this playlist.  It gets me genuinely pumped up and as I was listening to it earlier today I couldn’t help but dance around and just be happy.  I’m hoping it’ll help me through the half marathon tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

