Breakfast · Oatmeal · Vegetarian

Overnight Oatmeal

So I bet you’re all wondering, what does Rita eat for breakfast? Right?

Okay, probably not.

Well, since my work schedule requires me to be at work before the sun even rises on most days and I am the kind of person who can’t function unless I have had breakfast, I have had to rely on quick, simple breakfasts I can eat as my coffee is brewing.  I’ve heard the hype about overnight oatmeal (aka refrigerator oatmeal, overnight oats, etc) for some time now and a few months ago I decided to give them a try.  I have always been an oatmeal fan but wanted to get away from the packaged kind and didn’t have enough time in the morning to make fresh hot oatmeal.  So this seemed like the logical solution.

004

My first impression when I made them was that they looked a little yucky. And my first attempt I used WAY too many chia seeds so it was kind of a gelatinous yogurt flavored mess. Luckily, I continued to experiment and finally came up with a good recipe.  I like how thick and chewy they are, mmmm. And since they’re cold it’s easy for me to scarf them down in the morning and they are full of belly filling fiber! All together a win, win.  They just don’t look very pretty….

006

Overnight Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • ~2 oz Greek yogurt (I buy the 5.3 oz containers and split them among 3 servings)
  • 1/4 cup old fashioned oats (NOT quick oats)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or milk beverage of your choice)

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a container that can easily be covered and stored in the refrigerator, like a tupperware or small glass mason jar.
  2. Stir everything up until it is well combined and looks like oatmeal soup.
  3. Place in refrigerator overnight or for up to 3 days.

013This recipe is totally adaptable to whatever your preferences are.  Sometimes I like to throw a little dried fruit on top for some added chewiness. Or some nuts for some crunch. I make 3 servings at a time and it holds well in the fridge for a few days.  I like using the fruit flavored yogurts to add some sweetness and if you opt for vanilla or plain I would suggest either a bit of honey or some frozen/fresh fruit be added in unless, of course, you enjoy the tartness of plain yogurt.

008This morning I topped mine with some dried cranberries and it was delicious! Enjoy!

Servings: 1

  • Calories: 152
  • Total Fat: 4 g
  • Saturated Fat: 0 g
  • Cholesterol: 1.7 mg
  • Sodium: 76.7 mg
  • Total Carbs: 22.8 g
  • Fiber: 4 g
  • Sugar: 7.5 g
  • Protein: 7.8 g

*These nutrition facts can vary HUGELY depending on what ingredients you use.  If you don’t use nonfat yogurt you will have more fat.  If you use cows milk you will have more protein. If you use plain yogurt you will have less sugar. These are derived using the ingredients listed above so keep that in mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

