Chicken · Chili · Crock Pot

Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili

We all know I love my crock pot!  I made this a few months ago and absolutely loved it! Also, it made a large amount of servings and froze nicely.  I froze about 4 servings of it and ate the rest of it about a month after I made the original batch.  I had no complaints about how it thawed and reheated, which was nice.  To me, this is comfort food.  I adore chili and can’t get enough of it during the dreary winter days.  So maybe I should have posted this during WINTER, but I know a large part of the country is still in winter mode, so it works 🙂

Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili 

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 16-oz can black beans
  • 1 16-oz can kidney beans
  • 1 16-oz can tomato sauce
  • 10 oz package frozen corn kernels
  • 2 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes w/chilies
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 24 0z. (3) boneless skinless chicken breasts

Directions:

  1. Combine beans, onion, chili peppers, corn, tomato sauce, cumin, chili powder and taco seasoning in a slow cooker.
  2. Place chicken on top and cover.
  3. Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours.
  4. Half hour before serving, remove chicken and shred.
  5. Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in.

I love how simple crock pot meals are! You can top this with all the normal chili fixings (sour cream, cheese, cilantro) and serve with cornbread if you choose.  I literally craved this for a few days when I was eating the leftovers, it is SO GOOD!

006

It’s like happiness in a bowl!

Now seriously, go bust out your crockpot one last time and make this before the sun shine is here to stay!

Servings: 10

  • Calories: 220
  • Total Fat: 1 g
  • Saturated Fat: 0 g
  • Cholesterol: 26 mg
  • Sodium: 1088.8 mg
  • Total Carbs: 35.4 g
  • Protein: 17.6 g
Leave a Reply

