Quinoa · Sandwich · Vegetarian

Homemade Veggies Burgers!!!

Hello there! I am really excited about this absolutely wonderful recipe I have to share because it is a total success! I’m not new to homemade veggie burgers, but the last ones I tried to make were a bit of a fail.  I was making them in my studio apartment kitchenette to start with, which was the first disaster, and they did not hold together well at all.  I mean, they tasted amazing, but I had to eat my veggie burger with a fork and knife, NOT exactly what I wanted.

When I found this recipe on one of the blogs that I follow, Prevention RD, and one of her main positive comments on the burgers were that they actually held together I knew that a) I’m not a failure of a cook and my mushy veggie burgers were probably a common problem and b) I HAD to try this recipe.  I always pin her recipes to my Pinterest but this is the first I have actually tried. I’m sold. 

So here it is!

Black Bean and Quinoa Veggie Burgers

Ingredients:

½ cup dry quinoa
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 red onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp Kosher salt, divided
1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 Tbsp tomato paste
1 large egg
2/3 cup frozen corn
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
1 chipotle in adobo, minced
2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup oat flour

Directions:

Place the quinoa in a small saucepan with 1 cup of water. Set the saucepan over medium-high heat and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover the pan, and cook 10-15 minutes until the water is absorbed and quinoa is cooked. Remove from heat. Note: this step can be done ahead of time.

Heat the oil in a small pan over medium heat and add the onion and garlic. Add 1/4 teaspoon salt and sauté until onions are softened, 5-6 minutes. Place the mixture into a large bowl. Add black beans to the bowl and using a potato masher or fork, mash together until a pasty mixture forms.

Stir in the tomato paste, egg, corn, cilantro, chipotles, cumin and remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt. Stir in the cooked quinoa, oats, and oat flour until well mixed. Form the mixture into 6 equal patties, compacting them well with your hands as you form them. Place the patties on a baking sheet, cover them with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least a few hours or overnight.

To make the yogurt sauce, stir the yogurt, honey and mustard together in a small bowl.

When ready to eat, preheat the oven to 400 F or heat a griddle to medium-high heat. If baking, spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray and place the patties on the sheet cook 10-12 minutes until the patties are golden brown and crispy. Carefully flip the over and cook another 10 minutes. If using a griddle, heat 4-6 minutes per side or until slightly golden.

018 019

I served mine on a whole wheat bun with the usual burger condiments, mustard, ketchup, and a lot of lettuce.  The original recipe includes a yogurt sauce and the calorie information for the recipe, including that sauce.  If you’re interested, it’s HERE.

They are definitely on the spicy side, but not overwhelming.  The flavor of the cumin and the chipotle are prominent but not overwhelming and I imagine the yogurt sauce would cut the heat nicely and add a lot to the burger. I’m not exactly sure why I didn’t try it…just didn’t feel like it I guess 😛

I served it with roasted asparagus on the side, a very filling meal 🙂

Check out my fancy Instagram picture, it got a lot of like haha:

020

Anyone else out there had similar experiences with veggie burgers falling apart?

Servings (Burger only): 6

  • Calories: 220
  • Total Fat: 3.7 g
  • Saturated: 0.4 g
  • Cholesterol: 35.8 mg
  • Sodium: 154.8 mg
  • Total Carbs: 45.2 g
  • Protein: 10.5 g
Leave a Reply

