Chicken · Crock Pot

Well it has been a while…

As with everything, I have had trouble keeping up with this blog. Ooops! I have just been so busy in the past few months that I let it slip.

I’m going to try to be back for good now though, because I really want to get this rolling so if (when) I get an internship I have a place to start documenting my adventures.  Speaking of which, my applications are done! I submitted them on Valentine’s Day and will hear back whether or not I got one on April 7th.  Notification day is a week later this year and I’m not sure how I feel about that…7 weeks to wait instead of 6. Oh well, nothing I can do about it.  At this point I have NO idea what program I am aiming for, I’m waiting until after I hear back about interviews.  You know, just to have a feel for where I stand 🙂

Update on my half marathon training: ran 9 miles a few days ago!!! I felt to strong the entire run until the last mile and then I felt like I was going to die.  Not exaggerating at all, I have no idea how I finished. I’m planning on running 10 miles next week and I am absolutely terrified!!! I have been getting back into the swing of eating healthy and working out more (got a gym membership for myself!) and I’m hoping to drop a few of the holiday pounds I have acquired.  That should make my running much easier if I’m not hauling around extra weight!

Since we’re still in the winter months me and my crock pot have maintained a steady relationship because it is just way too convenient! I have been really wanting to try to make my own Jambalaya because it was always a favorite of mine when my sorority’s cook made it.  I found a simple recipe and gave it a shot. Turned out amazing! It made a lot so I actually have about half of it in my freezer for a time when my food budget becomes non-existent due to a tiny pay check.

My recipe is an adaptation from Katie’s Cucina blog that I found via Pinterest.

Crock Pot Jambalaya

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 6 oz andouille sausage, diced
  • 1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp Cajun or Creole seasoning
  • 1 tsp hot sauce
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 12 oz frozen peeled shrimp, thawed
  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice

Directions:

  1. Prepare the ingredients for the crockpot: cut chicken, dice sausage, and chop the onion, green bell pepper, and celery stalk.
  2. In the crock pot combine chicken, sausage, tomatoes, onion, green pepper, celery, and chicken broth. Stir in oregano, cajun seasoning, hot sauce, bay leaves, and thyme. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours or on HIGH for 4 hours.
  3. Once the contents in the crockpot are done cooking, carefully remove the liquid. You will use this liquid to cook your rice in a separate pot. Cook the rice according to package directions using as much jambalaya liquid as possible.  While rice is cooking, stir in the thawed shrimp in the crockpot, cover and cook until the shrimp are cooked (about 30 minutes). Once rice is done mix into the crock pot. Discard bay leaves and serve.

A little on the spicy side, which I think is typical for jambalaya, but if you are sensitive to the spicy side of things I would recommend not adding the hot sauce. Or topping it with sour cream to cool it down 🙂

002

Servings: 8

  • Calories: 284
  • Total Fat: 4.8 g
  • Saturated Fat: 1 g
  • Cholesterol: 127.5 mg
  • Sodium: 665.5 5 mg
  • Total Carbs: 29.5 g
  • Protein: 28.9 g
One thought on “Well it has been a while…

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe! Yes, this is a spicy recipe. I think a big thing to do with it is the andouille sausage and not so much the actual hot sauce. It does freeze well and makes a massive batch!

Leave a Reply

