Indian · Lentils · Quinoa · Vegetarian

Branching out…Lentil Chickpea Quinoa stew

I found this recipe on Pinterest (no surprise there) and wanted to give it a try mostly because I had a can of chickpeas in my cabinet and some leftover ginger from the Asian noodles that I made.  I am completely new to the world of Indian spices, this recipe calls from turmeric, coriander, and ground cloves, spices I don’t have in my cabinet already.  I got them at the bulk bins at Winco because I wasn’t sure if I was going to be using those flavors again.  Side note, for situations like that I would HIGHLY suggest bulk bins as an options for spices.  There is no need to spend $3 on a bottle of a spice you will use once.  I literally spent $0.03 for each, I kid you not.

Anyways, the recipe was a little vague.  From my experiences with it I would suggest using more than a “splash” of oil.  Use a few tablespoons otherwise you’ll just be dumping spices into a dry bottom pan and watching them stick, like I did.  I also didn’t get quite enough lentils (I know those scoopers have measurements on them, I just chose not to pay attention at Winco…) so I think the consistency was a little different because of that.

Here is a picture of the final product: 012

Nothing special looking but it was REALLY good.  Very hearty and filling and I really enjoyed the flavors that it had.  It has opened me up to a whole new realm of spices and I am very excited about it.  The link the the recipe is here so I would give it a try 🙂 hope you enjoy it!

Servings: 4

  • Calories: 286
  • Total Fat: 5.5 g
  • Saturated Fat: 0.5 g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg
  • Sodium: 456 mg
  • Total Carbs: 51.2 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 16.4 g
  • Protein: 16.1 g
Leave a Reply

