Asian Inspirations · Chicken · Uncategorized

Chicken Stir Fry, one of my cooking staples

In college I discovered how easy it is to make chicken stir fry, so it quickly became a staple in my cooking routine.  I’m pretty sure that every time I make it I make it differently, but it always manages to turn out good.  This time I used a half chicken breast, a green bell pepper, head of broccoli, about 2/3 of a cup of frozen edamame, and probably around the same amount of frozen onions.

I’m a big fan of the frozen onions.  They are already diced and for recipes like soup they are so easy to just measure and dump in.  I thawed them and the edamame before throwing them into the stir fry because I didn’t want excess liquid.  It turned out just fine with the frozen ones.  If you’re wanting to buy onions that are already diced but don’t want to go for the frozen ones, Trader Joe’s sells diced fresh onions (as well as an assortment of other veggies) and they have reasonable prices as well 🙂

I marinated the peppers, broccoli, and chicken for about an hour before in a teryaki marinade. I’ve tried a few different kinds and honestly don’t have a preference.  Once it was all stir fry-ed up I served it over brown rice and dug in.

001

I also added some soy sauce and Sriracha to it as well. I like some spice in my food and Sriracha is perfect for that. Crack in a bottle. Seriously.

003

I would recommend trying your own version of chicken stir fry. It holds well as leftovers and it’s so easy and cheap. Enjoy 🙂

One thought on “Chicken Stir Fry, one of my cooking staples

Leave a Reply

